(Insert Semi-interesting, semi-awesome blog title here)

Summer into autumn
Summer into autumn (Photo credit: blmiers2)

Well, it has been an interesting few weeks here in the ‘Lou. I graduated college, and then came home to begin what will go down as the most unsuccessful job hunt in the history of the universe ever. Ever. No lie. No luck whatsoever. Luckily, my parents love me and they are willing for me to mooch for a few more summers. I am jobless, and have no prospects. Let me tell you though, there are some reasons as to why this is okay.

1. Being gainfully employed would have taken all the time that I’ve had to play ping pong, walk with my mom, or read. See? Not all that great. Lol.

2. When I mentioned reading earlier, I meant that I have done ALOT of it. I sit down at the beginning of the day and read until I decide I’m done. I mean sure, I could be off making money, but I tell ya what: I have learned alot. I am going to be way ahead of the game next year going into my new major (English), and I think having some wicked awesome book knowledge will be meaningful somewhere down the road.

3. I have time to go do mission work this summer. With a job, I would have to stay in town and work alot, but because I’m a bum, I actually have been afforded an even greater opportunity to serve on three weeks of mission trips this summer. I am looking forward to it too!

4. I know that I shouldn’t have any reasons as to why I’m okay with being unemployed. I know. But I really think that this summer, I haven’t attained employment because I had some traits in my life that needed reworking before I went off to school next year. I think God is opening up my schedule in order for me to give Him more time and more of my focus. I have already reformed alot of my ideas and motivations, and I think that I am headed in the right direction.

Just as a disclaimer for potential future employers: I would love a job. I’m not saying I don’t want one. I am just saying that I am not employed this summer, and I think there is a great reason for that. So. Anyways. Hire me. Please. I don’t want to sit in my computer chair all summer. (Unless you’ll pay me for that…)

So. Those are my thoughts on this summer so far. It’s been kind of a weird experience, but honestly I don’t regret it. I pray that God works in my life and in yours to give this same kind of refreshed perspective.

So. What does this mean to you? Nothing. Absolutely nothing. I just thought I’d let you know how my summer was going. Its great. Even though I am broke. I feel loved, and I feel at peace. Hopefully your summer is going as well as mine.

You guys are great. Thanks for reading my posts, I hope you will continue on! I am really excited for the blogging potential, and I really hope you all don’t hate me or my writing by the end of the process.

So. Love y’all.

Keep blogging.

Leave a Reply

