Poems, Papers, and Peer Review. Oh my!

Hey guess what! I’m on a poetry frenzy. Today in Ethnic Literature, we did peer reviews. These are the days where other students are fully allowed to tear your paper up, and I hate the critiques on a pretty typical basis. lol. So. Here is my poem titled “Peer Review.”

 

I just wrote a darn good paper.
Lots of words, some fancy usage too.
I finished it this morning,
Now its time for peer review.
I pass it to the left,
Nerves well up inside, …
She looks at me and laughs,
I think I’m gonna die.

She handed back my paper
black and blue like Rocky after Apollo (the first time).
I slump back in my chair
“Yo Adrien! Yo Mickey!”
No luck.
I’m stuck.
Again.

Here I sit
alone
in the corner with a bashed paper
and bashed dreams.
My peer review was finally over.
I left, my “darn good paper” and me,
I knew I could recover
as my heart filled with glee,
because

Its lunch time.

Leave a Reply

